Holy Resurrection Church is a unique creation of the architecture of Vitebsk. A unique wall painting, a solemn and majestic appearance and a hereditary set of bells, to which not every church can boast - all this makes the relic the invaluable heritage of the culture of Vitebsk.
The temple was built in the late Baroque style, it is notable for its special elegance and refinement of forms and lines.
Previously, this place was a wooden church. The exact date of construction is unknown. It was first mentioned in the history of the city of Vitebsk in 1558. Historians and cultural scientists suggest that it was built even earlier - at the beginning of the XVI century.
So it is already foreshadowed by the history that the outstanding monuments of art, including the many sights of Vitebsk, were prepared for a difficult and thorny path. Not once the temple burned, but the church again and again resurrected from the ruins. When and how the wooden church of Vitebsk was finally destroyed is unknown. But 1772 is mentioned in literary sources - when, instead of wooden, local architects erected a stone church, which soon passed to the Uniates. The Resurrection Church was restored with donations from the local merchant Nikolai Smyk. Some sources say that the project was developed by Jan Glaubitz - an outstanding architect of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania.
The church was famous for unprecedented paintings and unique architecture and was one of the main Uniate churches of Vitebsk at that time. So Napoleon Bonaparte in the summer of 1812 during his stay in Vitebsk was stunned by what he saw. Therefore, he did not rob the Resurrection Church, and placed the infirmary here.
Uniate temple remained until 1834. Then the church expanded the list of Orthodox sights of Vitebsk. In 1841 it was rebuilt according to Orthodox canons. As a result, a triangular pediment appeared on the front facade, three-tiered towers were built on, and a wooden octahedral drum decorated the roof. As a result, the temple seemed to stretch over the square and above the existing urban buildings, becoming an important and necessary element of the ensemble of the city of Vitebsk. Divine liturgies in the Resurrection Church were held until 1936. Then it was completely destroyed by order of the local authorities. After the collapse of the Soviet Union decided to restore the Resurrection Church. When recreating the temple, the drawings of the artist Jozef Pawn and the photos of Vitebsk of that time were carefully studied.
Soon, under the design of Igor Rothko, an Orthodox church appeared as it was at the end of the 18th century. True, the roof has changed somewhat: in the center a small turret with a dome was built. A second dome appeared, which is visible only from the inside. The construction of the temple was carried out on the donations of citizens. Everyone could buy a brick for the construction of the church, where his name fit. Exterior finishing work was completed only by the end of 2008. At the same time, in the niches of the walls of the Resurrection Church, at a height of over 20 meters, images of Christ, the Mother of God and the saints appeared.
The interior of the church is no less rich and lush, so the temple is an invaluable legacy in the architecture of Vitebsk. Especially worth noting are the frescoes painted by Vitebsk masters and the amazing painting “The Descent of Jesus Christ to Hell”, which was painted by icon painter from Vitebsk Sergey Petrov.